The non Christmassy, Christmas post.

“Pay as much attention to the things that are working positively in your life as you do to those things that are giving you trouble.” – H. Jackson Brown

I’m not a very Christmassy person but this year I’m looking forward to it in a way.  I enjoy spending time with Mrs Munki, but also over the last month or so I have had a little trouble getting to training.  The majority of this is work related in one way or another.  It has prevented me from doing what I enjoy, as real life always does.

But as the schools where I train are open the majority of the holiday period I am looking forward to playing catch up.  In addition to this being an opportunity to get more mat time, I am viewing it as a time to set my intentions for the future.

Following a speech at a recent seminar we both attended and a discussion with Mrs Munki she suggested that I should start setting some target for the forthcoming new year.  This would give me some achievable targets within my jiu jitsu and motivate me through the work issues.

So these are my targets:

1. I want to compete, I have made excuses to myself and I have put this off.  But I will compete in the first competition  I can from March 2014.

2. I am going to develop a game plan.  I have techniques in the bank, but I use them all reactively and not proactively to a finish. Obviously this would support target 1 as well.

3.  I am also going to start attending the open mat sessions on Sunday mornings.  I am going to work on a minimum of 10 sessions up to March for my target.

4. I am also going to make time to attend some additional morning drilling classes.  I could probably make two of these a month so my target is 6 up to March.

Why am I saying March, well Mrs Munki and I have a training holiday planned at the end of March.  So it kind of gives a natural break to this and an opportunity to review if I have achieved my planned goals.

I am hoping that the negative things that been affecting me for a while, can be overcome with a more positive focus in a positive area of my life.  Plus it won’t do my jiu jitsu any harm starting to pull it together a bit more.  So now its time to speak to my coaches and put the hard work in pulling this lot together.

I have a particular reason I am setting these targets, but if anyone out there has any targets or goals of their own that they are looking to start in 2014, it would be great to hear from you.

Munkiheader rolling Final2

2 comments

  1. My jiu jitsu goals, which are actually low on my overall priority list, are; Train with my friend Sundar more, maybe go train with Marcelo Garcia 2x a month (I live 1.5 hrs away from NYC and I am seriously thinking about going there every other Sat.), get more aggressive and try to submit more on the bottom and smash/control more on the top (Saulo Ribeiro/Sundar) are my inspirations for this. Train a lot more with my Kettlebell swings and turkish getups. Lots of battle roping.

    1. I think I’ll be joining you with the kettlebell training next year. I need to start adding a little strength training into my programme. I’m sure the travelling to train at Marcelo Garcia’s will be worth it. I’m planning on flying over for a week to train there. Really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

