Listen while you learn…..

Yes I am still unable to hit the mats, but I ‘m now back at work. This unfortunate “real life” issue limits the time I have to do the things I enjoy. So I have started to plan how I will use my time more effectively to do the things I enjoy and not just the stuff that turns my Old Munki brain to mush.

Old Skool – Happy planning book

I have started an old skool paper “happy book” to work out what I enjoy doing and how to work it all, in the time I have around work. Some of the stuff is supportive of my training. So using the meta training thing I have mentioned in a previous post I have started looking at how I will study. One thing that I really liked when I trained, was my coach would play classical music whilst we rolled. I found this actually really good and enjoyed the music. I had heard previously that classical music does help you learn. So I have looked into this some further.

“Music is the electrical soil in which the spirit lives, thinks and invents.” –Ludwig van Beethoven.

In the 1960’s, Dr. Georgi Lozanov and Evelyna Gateva researched ways to increase memory abilities including the use of music in the classroom. A couple of ways for using music, were developed through Lozanov’s methods. Using classical music, specifically Baroque, activates the learning process mentally, physically and/or emotionally. This process is geared to place you in a relaxed alpha brain wave state and stabilize your mental, physical and emotional rhythms to increase information absorption. The music allows you to attain a state of deep concentration and focus in which large amounts of content information can be processed and learned.

Baroque music, such as that composed by Bach, Handel or Telemann, that is 50 to 80 beats per minute creates an atmosphere of focus that leads you into deep concentration in the alpha brain wave state. Reading to this music is highly effective. On the other hand.

An example of the type of music is here

So I have tried this out while working from home and report writing and it did actually help with my focus. So I have downloaded even more to help when reading, reviewing and drilling (eventually)!

Munkiheader Final2

2 comments

  1. This is interesting. I wonder what effect the Scandinavian Reggae Death Metal the kids always crank during open mat is having…

    1. Hmmm I had one coach that loved Hall and Oats and played that all the time when we rolled. Probably not as bad as Scandinavian Reggae Death Metal though…..

Leave a Reply

