Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet………

So I went to the physio this morning.  He is happy with my scapula movement and I have now been promoted to a blue theraband.  Whoop six weeks to a blue band!  However the band news was that he recommends that I wait to go back to BJJ for another eight to ten weeks.  To this Old Munki that seems like an eternity to wait to get back on the mat.  But I am looking on the bright side I have a target so I can start working towards that.  He did say I cold go back to the gym and lift weights, within the limits of what feels comfortable for my shoulder.  This means that I can start working on my upper body strength, which will vary up my gym visits that have all been cardio and leg based up to now. So this makes me feel better and I now also have my yoga.

So all in all I have a great preparation programme to get me ready to get back on the mats, with a perfect adaptation time to start getting my body physically prepared.  I am going to work on two 4 week mesocycles.  The first one being strength endurance with a relatively low weight or bodyweight.  With the second cycle I am going to move into a hypertrophy cycle.  This process including the yoga and a couple of sessions of high intensity interval training, will prepare my body (especially my shoulders) for BJJ. It will put me in a position where I can start the programme I have worked on for whilst I am training BJJ.

patience-quotes-101

It may not be BJJ, but the amount of downtime I have had over the last 18 months, it is the step before getting back on the mat and it is a necessary step for my my own peace of mind.  After everything I’ve been through I don’t to cause any damage that put me back on the operating table.  I am really glad I have been able to get something positive out of what at 9.00am this morning was a disappointment.

Munkiheader Final2

Leave a Reply

