Love your sweat…hot yoga rocks

So yesterday I went to a hot yoga class.  As I am restricted in what I can do training wise, I was looking for something that I thought would be a challenge but also a benefit.  I know a lot of BJJ guys are into yoga for flexibility, balance and other benefits. I also felt like doing it in a really hot room as well, would definitely be the challenge I was looking for too.

Let me say the staff at the venue were really nice and helpful and the instructor was in my opinion, was good too. She did introduce herself by saying, “I’m an Ashtanga Yogi so I can be a little hardcore”. Yeah at that point I was wondering what have I let myself in for?  One hour in a room of about 50 people thats heated to 40 degrees Celsius is hard work in itself, without throwing in the yoga as well.  But then thinking would my Chimp let me bail appropriately in a room full of women.  Being an Old Munki I put my sensible head on and controlled my chimp.  So I had to bail on a few of the postures as my healing shoulder could not manage it, which I am glad about as I wanted to enjoy it and not hurt myself.  As I have to still keep my shoulder safe at the moment as it is still strengthening, being sensible was the best option. But I could feel the effects on my body, to be honest I can still feel how well it has worked my muscles today.  But it was great fun, enjoyable and whilst I can’t roll seems like a good option.

I can see why yoga is a good complementary exercise to BJJ.  Besides the flexibility benefits the postures work at a level aimed at total body control. This is reflection of what I am trying to achieve with my drilling.  So it looks like until I get back on the mats this could be a lower impact alternative to get me mat ready.

If you are considering going to a yoga class I would definitely recommend it, hot or not it seems to compliment BJJ well.

Munkiheader Final2

3 comments

  1. I cannot stress enough the benefits I have seen from my practice of Yoga. Not only in the strengthening and flexibility in all areas, but specifically in my breathing. I’ve found that even when getting crushed and folded like a cheap blanket, I’m still able to keep my wits about me. And that simply stems from having the ability to keep positive control of my breathing, of making the most efficient use of each breath. Personally, I recommend the practice of Yoga to every grappler who falls into the ‘distinguished’ age category. It correlates with, and is perfectly complimentary to, the practice of BJJ.

Leave a Reply

