Good habits are not for naughty nuns

This is nothing about religion, but today I have had the all clear from the doctor following my shoulder operation and now I’m in the hands of the physiotherapist. So this is good news, but I’m still not able to get back on the mats or really lift anything, bad times. I’m also coming to the end of my first week back at work following the two months off with the surgery, which has been really hard as I’ve been getting headaches and sore eyes, (no idea why).  So now I am just considering what I can do in the meantime before I can start lifting and rolling.  I pretty much restricted to squats and interval training with a spin bike, as I can’t run comfortably yet.  It’s not the greatest work out but it keeps me ticking over and putting on too much weight. However I am going to try some hot yoga this weekend.  I have done yoga before and I did enjoy it, so I am hoping this is a low impact activity until I am able to get back to normal.  I am also hoping that it will improve my flexibility for BJJ and my shoulders’ range of motion.

I have however realised that this is probably the most dangerous time for me now.  Whilst I was off I could go and do my lower body workout a few times a week at any time I wanted.  Now I have to fit it in around work.  As I don’t see this particular workout as it’s a bit dull, I have to really push myself to try and get to the gym.  It would be easy to slip into a habit of going home and slobbing in front of the TV. I know I can’t get into this negative habit as I will be hitting the mats after work so I really need to keep on top of this.  I must remember mats good, sitting on my ass bad! I am focusing on staying positive and looking forward in the next couple of weeks to getting my gi on and getting back on the mats, even if it only once a week in a private. Good times and I can’t wait.

312334_514662331911225_1213952310_n

2 comments

Leave a Reply

