Getting my stretch on oohhh yeah baby!

I was out on Sunday with Mrs Munki at a Thai Boxing inter club.  Despite being a bjj munki now, I do know a bit of striking, I need to, to keep Mrs Munki at bay during an argument.  I was fascinated and actually surprised by the number of athletes that were static stretching prior to a fight, including bugger my bananas Mrs Munki. When I pointed out she has a sports science degree and as a high level field coach, she would not let her athletes do that. Her response was, “I know what works for me so I’m doing it!” Yes all those years at university boiled down into such a compelling retort.
 I know there has been a lot of debate on the static – dynamic stretching issue, but I believe that most coaches are on the dynamic side for warm up purposes. Thats why I was surprised to see Mrs Munki doing it. However it would appear that traditional old skool martial arts appear to be using old skool training methods? It seems because it has always been done that way it is passed on coach to student.

Why am I bringing this up? I hear you cry or at least mumble.  Well I amongst many others I stayed awake until the early hours to watch the metamoris pro bjj event.  Whilst watching the countdown videos, two of the participants Andre Galvao and Roger Gracie both showed that the olympic lifts were part of their training, which for elite athletes is awesome to see that they are taking their strength training seriously.  When you consider that for the likes of Chris Hoy, Usain Bolt and Gemma Gibbons this would have been a standard part of their full professional periodised strength and conditioning programme. As BJJ would be considered a young sport in the grand scheme of things, it has a great opportunity to integrate modern training programmes for its athletes and it was great to see it happening at such a high level.

However whether you are elite or not don’t do the same for your support training as you do with you BJJ and evolve a programme that will work for you. You don’t have to be an elite athlete to take advantage of a periodised programme. You can be an old beginner like me, as basically it just stops you getting physically screwed up with training and real life. I don’t know about you but I’ve ended up missing weeks of training due to just doing too much. My body just says F*^k you and I end up sick or injured.

Getting your support training right can help in many ways, weightlifting help testosterone and bone density, besides strength benefits. A bit of sprinting to keep your speed, co ordination and balance up.  All important as you become an old Munki! Training smart can start any time and can set you up for life and support your goal of improving your BJJ.

This is the Metamoris Countdown for Roger Gracie I mentioned.

Leave a Reply

